Is there a waiting period for issuance of the license?
If only one of the couple is a Florida resident and the Florida resident takes the course, there is no
waiting period. If both parties are out of state residents, there is no waiting period.
There is not a waiting period for couples who reside in the State of Florida and attend a premarital
preparation course. These couples must provide a certificate to the Clerk upon making application. If the
couple are state residents and do not attend a premarital preparation course, the effective date of the
license is delayed 3 three days. Exceptions to the delayed effective date (3-day delay) are non-Florida
residents. For individuals asserting hardship of the wait, a county court judge may waive the delayed
effective date for good cause.
When do I take the premarital preparation course?
The premarital preparation course cannot be taken more than 1 year prior to the date of the application
for a marriage license.
How do I find a course provider?
The Clerk of Court has a registry of providers.
Who is qualified to be a provider?
- A psychologist licensed under chapter 490.
- A clinical social worker licensed under chapter 491.
- A marriage and family therapist licensed under chapter 491.
- A mental health counselor licensed under chapter 491.
- An official representative of a religious institution, which is recognized under s496.404(20), if the
representative has relevant training.
- Any other provider designated by a judicial circuit, but not limited to, school counselors who are
certified to offer such courses.
Are blood tests and physical exams required?
No. The law requiring these tests was abolished October 1, 1986.